Log in


About BASS

The British Association of Spine Surgeons (BASS) actively promotes the study of spinal disorders with particular attention to the surgical treatment of spinal disease.

BASS is a national organisation with the following objectives:

  • Set standards of spinal care and strive to ensure the highest possible standards of management for individuals with spinal disorders
  • Promote research into the cause and surgical treatment of spinal disorders
  • Provide a forum for the study of the origin, natural history and treatment of spinal disorders
  • Educate and train future spinal surgeons
  • Oversee and manage the British Spine Registry (BSR)

BASS is one of several national spinal societies that form the United Kingdom Spine Societies Board (UKSSB), and is a specialist society of the British Orthopaedic Association (BOA).

BASS was responsible for the inception of the British Spine Registry which has now become the single recognised Spine Registry for the UK.

BASS may accumulate funds and receive donations to further the above objectives.


Links to BASS Constitution documents:
BASS Articles of Association
BASS Bye-Laws


The British Association of Spine Surgeons Executive Team

The BASS Executive comprises of the following:

President Mr Sashin Ahuja

president@spinesurgeons.ac.uk

President-ElectMr David Cummingelect@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Secretary Mr Aprajay Golash secretary@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Treasurer Mr Mark Thomas treasurer@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Audit and Registry (Neuro) Mr David Bell audit@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Audit and Registry  (Ortho) Mr Robert Lee audit@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Professional Practice Mr Ash Khurana professionalpractice@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Education Mr Rohit Shetty education@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Meeting Host – Belfast 2022 Mr Niall Eames meetinghost@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Trainee Representative Mr Zacharia Silk trainee@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Webmaster Mr Edward Seel webmaster@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Research Mr Kia Rezajooi research@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Membership Mr John Leach membership@spinesurgeons.ac.uk
Guidelines and NICE Liaison Mr Neil Chiverton guidelines@spinesurgeons.ac.uk


Henry Dodds is our administrative support at the UK Spine Societies Board (www.ukssb.com).

For General contact and queries, please email via info@spinesurgeons.ac.uk

BASS is unable to provide medical advice. If you are seeking medical advice you should consult your General Practitioner.



British Association of Spine Surgeons (BASS), RCSEng, 35-43 Lincoln's Inn Fields, Holborn, London, WC2A 3PE

Registered Charity - No.1150365

Company Registration - No.08156883


Copyright © 2019 - British Association of Spine Surgeons
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software